Abuse of Law 📷📷

Sedition was not a part of the original Section 124 of the Indian Penal Code enacted by the British colonial government in 1860. It was incorporated as Section 124 A in 1870 to silence and put behind bars freedom fighters. Sedition has no place in a 21st century democracy and should be repealed as it is unconstitutional. It violates our fundamental right under Article 19 (1) (a) (freedom of speech and expression). Filing a 1,200-page chargesheet against the Jawaharlal Nehru University students Kanhaiya Kumar, Syed Umar Khalid and Anirban Bhatacharya for shouting slogans in the campus against the hanging of Afzal Guru, convicted in the Parliament House attack case in 2016 under IPC 124A, 143, 147, 149, 323, 465 and 471 is nothing but a politically motivated act. The late CN Annadurai, founder-leader of the DMK and former Chief Minister of Madras State (now Tamil Nadu), opposing imposition of Hindi as the sole national language, said in Parliament in 1962, “We the Dravidians want the right to self-determination,” and demanded the formation of a separate Tamil nation. The Congress government of Nehru was not rattled and no sedition charge was brought against Annadurai. University students are prone to dissent and to make radical speeches. The BJP government of Narendra Modi lacks the tolerance to ignore such sound and fury. Invoking sedition law against the students is violation of a number of judgments of the Supreme Court which narrowed the scope of Section 124 A of the IPC.

Write to Us:

Advisory Committee: Yves Berthelot (France),  PV Rajagopal (India), Vandana Shiva (India), Oliver de Schutter (Belgium), Mazide N’Diaye (Senegal), Gabriela Monteiro (Brazil), Irakli Kakabadze (Georgia), Anne Pearson (Canada), Liz Theoharis (USA), Sulak Sivaraksa (Thailand), Jagat Basnet (Nepal), Miloon Kothari (India),  Irene Santiago (Philippines), Arsen Kharatyan (Armenia), Margrit Hugentobler (Switzerland), Jill Carr-Harris (Canada/India), Reva Joshee (Canada), Sonia Deotto (Mexico/Italy),Benjamin Joyeux (Geneva/France), Aneesh Thillenkery, Ramesh Sharma, Ran Singh (India)