Anna Hazare on Strike for Farmers

Eleven years after his anti-corruption movement that shook the then Congress-led UPA government, Anna Hazare has launched yet another indefinite hunger strike against the inaction of the Modi Government fornot setting up of Lokpal at the Centre and Lokayuktas at State level. The Jan Lokpal Bill is a draft anti-corruption bill drawn up by prominent civil society activists that seeki the appointment of an independent body that would investigate corruption cases

As well Hazare is raising the non-implementation of the Swaminathan Commission, which is meant to address the agrarian distress of farmers. "This will be a satyagraha…At least 1.2 million (12 lakh) farmers have committed suicide in the past 22 years”, says Hazare.

According to eye-witness, there are more farmers with Anna Hazare in the Ram Lila Ground over the weekend than middle class people on the anti-corruption issue. This reiterates to the BJP Government that suicides of farmers continues and must be urgently addressed. Farmers need assured access and control over basic resources, which includes land, water, bioresources, credit, insurance, technology, knowledge management, and markets. Agricultureought to be inserted in the Concurrent List of the Constitution. The recent budgetary allocations to farmers did not go far enough to make their marketing remunerative.

Hazare also slammed the central government for its "sly attitude", claiming it had "cancelled trains carrying protesters to Delhi”.

Write to Us:

Advisory Committee: Yves Berthelot (France),  PV Rajagopal (India), Vandana Shiva (India), Oliver de Schutter (Belgium), Mazide N’Diaye (Senegal), Gabriela Monteiro (Brazil), Irakli Kakabadze (Georgia), Anne Pearson (Canada), Liz Theoharis (USA), Sulak Sivaraksa (Thailand), Jagat Basnet (Nepal), Miloon Kothari (India),  Irene Santiago (Philippines), Arsen Kharatyan (Armenia), Margrit Hugentobler (Switzerland), Jill Carr-Harris (Canada/India), Reva Joshee (Canada), Sonia Deotto (Mexico/Italy),Benjamin Joyeux (Geneva/France), Aneesh Thillenkery, Ramesh Sharma, Ran Singh (India)