Peace process in the Basque country

Violence in the Basque country (Spain and France) has claimed hundreds of lives from 1960 to 2010.

On 17 October 2011, an international peace conference was held in Donostia-San Sebastián, aimed at promoting a resolution to the Basque conflict.The conference resulted in a five-point statement that included a plea for ETA to renounce any armed activities and to demand instead negotiations with the Spanish and French authorities to end the conflict. It was seen as a possible prelude to the end of ETA's violent campaign for an independent Basque homeland.

Three days later – on 20 October – ETA announced "definitive cessation of its armed activity". They said they were ending their 43-year armed campaign for independence and called on Spain and France to open talks. In March 2017 ETA declared that it would disarm completely by 8 April. On that date, civilian 'go-betweens' (Artisans of Peace) handed a list of 8 coordinates to the authorities which showed the locations of weapons caches in southwestern France used by the group.

On 8 April, the civil society turned out to the streets in support of ETA’s decision to hand over arms and celebrate peace, with twenty thousands people attending a mass rally in central Bayonne, France. To support the peace process, a rally was organized between 7 to 9 December 2017 in Paris. More than 10,000 people joined.

To commemorate the surrender of arms, a 3-day conference is held in Bayonne and Biarritz, France, on 6, 7 and 8 April 2018. Programme :

Write to Us:

Advisory Committee: Yves Berthelot (France),  PV Rajagopal (India), Vandana Shiva (India), Oliver de Schutter (Belgium), Mazide N’Diaye (Senegal), Gabriela Monteiro (Brazil), Irakli Kakabadze (Georgia), Anne Pearson (Canada), Liz Theoharis (USA), Sulak Sivaraksa (Thailand), Jagat Basnet (Nepal), Miloon Kothari (India),  Irene Santiago (Philippines), Arsen Kharatyan (Armenia), Margrit Hugentobler (Switzerland), Jill Carr-Harris (Canada/India), Reva Joshee (Canada), Sonia Deotto (Mexico/Italy),Benjamin Joyeux (Geneva/France), Aneesh Thillenkery, Ramesh Sharma, Ran Singh (India)