Chile's #MeToo moment: students protest against sexual harassment

Chile's #MeToo moment: students protest against sexual harassment Chile's #MeToo moment: students protest against sexual harassment South America Author: John Bartlett Source: The Guardian Date of Publication: July 9, 2018 Seven years ago, a wave of student protests paralyzed schools and universities across Chile, eventually forcing the president, Sebastián Piñera, to sack his education minister and promise massive investment in an educational system that was seen as unduly focused on making a profit. This year, with Piñera back in power, a new generation of activists has launched a wave of strikes, occupations and protests against sexual harassment and sexual discrimination within the country’s universities. “This movement was born from the fury that we have accumulated as women and feminists over many years. 2011 was an awakening, but it wasn’t feminist – today we are coming from a different angle,” said Valentina Gatica Gómez, president of the student federation at the Austral University of Chile in the southern city of Valdivia, where the first of the protests erupted in April. Since then, more than 25 higher education institutions the length of the country have been paralyzed by protests and sit-ins. Chile’s #MeToo moment comes as the women’s movement in Latin America has taken on new momentum, challenging violence against women and pushing for reform of the region’s draconian abortion laws. Read Full Article TAGS: DEMONSTRATIONS/MARCHESSTRUGGLES FOR WOMEN’S RIGHTS

Write to Us:

Advisory Committee: Yves Berthelot (France),  PV Rajagopal (India), Vandana Shiva (India), Oliver de Schutter (Belgium), Mazide N’Diaye (Senegal), Gabriela Monteiro (Brazil), Irakli Kakabadze (Georgia), Anne Pearson (Canada), Liz Theoharis (USA), Sulak Sivaraksa (Thailand), Jagat Basnet (Nepal), Miloon Kothari (India),  Irene Santiago (Philippines), Arsen Kharatyan (Armenia), Margrit Hugentobler (Switzerland), Jill Carr-Harris (Canada/India), Reva Joshee (Canada), Sonia Deotto (Mexico/Italy),Benjamin Joyeux (Geneva/France), Aneesh Thillenkery, Ramesh Sharma, Ran Singh (India)