Writing a comparative history of indigenous peoples is a challenging

and humbling experience. There is a great deal of first-rate scholarship

on indigenous–newcomer relations and indigenous history around the

world. There are major gaps in the literature as well, and the writing,

understandably, is typically in the language of the country under inves-

tigation. Add to this the very complexity of the task – covering many

centuries, dozens of countries, and thousand of contact situations – and

the assignment become even more daunting. A Global History of Indigenous

Peoples came out of a desire to search for patterns and processes in the

history of indigenous–newcomer encounter and to make connections

across continents and centuries. The book offers a general overview, and

hopes to stimulate debate and further investigations of the comparative

dimension of the indigenous experiences and, in particular, to highlight

the value of broadening the discussion beyond the European empires

and to incorporate indigenous contact with other colonial and national

powers. Comparative history is a humbling corner of the discipline, for

one ventures forth in full recognition that one’s thoughts and interpre-

tations are tentative, seeking to draw lines between disparate spots on

chronological and geographical templates. This work, then, is a specu-

lation on a broad, globally significant issue; I welcome the opportunity

to expand, enhance, and rethink the conclusions as debate about

indigenous–newcomer experiences around the world continue.

Write to Us:

Advisory Committee: Yves Berthelot (France),  PV Rajagopal (India), Vandana Shiva (India), Oliver de Schutter (Belgium), Mazide N’Diaye (Senegal), Gabriela Monteiro (Brazil), Irakli Kakabadze (Georgia), Anne Pearson (Canada), Liz Theoharis (USA), Sulak Sivaraksa (Thailand), Jagat Basnet (Nepal), Miloon Kothari (India),  Irene Santiago (Philippines), Arsen Kharatyan (Armenia), Margrit Hugentobler (Switzerland), Jill Carr-Harris (Canada/India), Reva Joshee (Canada), Sonia Deotto (Mexico/Italy),Benjamin Joyeux (Geneva/France), Aneesh Thillenkery, Ramesh Sharma, Ran Singh (India)